Cash Only Bond Unconstitutional
A Cash-Only Bond Violates The Michigan Constitution
If a judge has set a “Cash Only” bond on the case of a friend or family member who has not yet plead guilty or been convicted of the offense for which they are charged, you should contact your lawyer, the Michigan State Court Administrator’s Office Regional Representative and Judicial Tenure Commission in that order until the bond has been changed to a bond that allows the posting of surety!
The Link for the State Court Administrator’s Office in Lansing, Michigan is:
No person shall be subject for the same offense to be twice put in jeopardy. All persons shall, before conviction, be bailable by sufficient sureties, except that bail may be denied for the following persons when the proof is evident or the presumption great:
(a) A person who, within the 15 years immediately preceding a motion for bail pending the disposition of an indictment for a violent felony or of an arraignment on a warrant charging a violent felony, has been convicted of 2 or more violent felonies under the laws of this state or under substantially similar laws of the United States or another state, or a combination thereof, only if the prior felony convictions arose out of at least 2 separate incidents, events, or transactions.
(b) A person who is indicted for, or arraigned on a warrant charging, murder or treason.
(c) A person who is indicted for, or arraigned on a warrant charging, criminal sexual conduct in the first degree, armed robbery, or kidnapping with intent to extort money or other valuable thing thereby, unless the court finds by clear and convincing evidence that the defendant is not likely to flee or present a danger to any other person.
(d) A person who is indicted for, or arraigned on a warrant charging, a violent felony which is alleged to have been committed while the person was on bail, pending the disposition of a prior violent felony charge or while the person was on probation or parole as a result of a prior conviction for a violent felony.
If a person is denied admission to bail under this section, the trial of the person shall be commenced not more than 90 days after the date on which admission to bail is denied. If the trial is not commenced within 90 days after the date on which admission to bail is denied and the delay is not attributable to the defense, the court shall immediately schedule a bail hearing and shall set the amount of bail for the person.
As used in this section, “violent felony” means a felony, an element of which involves a violent act or threat of a violent act against any other person.
This section, as amended, shall not take effect until May 1, 1979.
History: Const. 1963, Art. I, § 15, Eff. Jan. 1, 1964 ;– Am. H.J.R. Q, approved Nov. 7, 1978, Eff. May 1, 1979
Former Constitution: See Const. 1908, Art. II, § 14.
© 2007 Legislative Council, State of Michigan
If you are given a “CASH ONLY” bond, meaning that Surety is NOT ALLOWED, and you have not plead guilty or been found guilty of the charge for which the bond has been set, please direct your attorney to this page and ask your attorney to call us! We Will Help You!